Introducing the Sport Changes Life Victory Scholar Class of 2020

August 15th, 2019 | NEWS

The Sport Changes Life Foundation (SCLF) is proud to announce the Victory Scholar Program Class of 2020.

The prestigious program entering into its 12th year has previously awarded 134 American student athletes a Victory Scholarship. These NCAA student-athletes have completed a rigorous selection process ensuring they embody the values of the Victory Program, first designed by Co-Founder Professor Deirdre Brennan (Ulster University). This year the foundation is awarding 22 deserving student-athletes from 19 different US colleges – the opportunity to study for postgraduate qualification while acting as role models and mentors to young people in community outreach programs throughout Ireland in 2019-20. The new class of scholars will also receive the opportunity to continue playing competitive basketball overseas for clubs and universities across Ireland.

Sport Changes Life Foundation’s Co-Founder and C.E.O, Gareth Maguire, is looking forward to the incoming class arriving:

“Over the last 12 years we have seen the program grow from strength to strength, and we are confident that this class will have a lasting impact on the communities of Ireland. Ultimately, this is about working with local communities using sport and sporting role models as a catalyst for positive change. Last year our Victory class was comprised of 5,060 young people in their local communities creating 24,159 participation opportunities. This is a really exciting time of year and we look forward to welcoming another special group of young American men and women leaders to the Island of Ireland.”


The Victory Scholar Class of 2020

Kadeem Smithen, Ulster University – Siena College

Kyle Dixon, Ulster University – Marietta College

Kollyns Scarbrough, Ulster University – Sienna College

Lexi Posset, Ulster University – Rider University


Dana Di Renzo, Ulster University – St Francis College


Michael Grassey, Waterford IT – Hamilton College

Maria Palarino, Waterford IT – St Francis College


Brandon Berry, IT Sligo – Elizabethtown College

Carson Long, IT Sligo – Guilford College


Aryn McClure, Cork IT – Quinnipiac University

Peter Hoffmann, Cork IT – Hamilton College


Ashley Russell, DCU – University of Pennsylvania

Meredith Burkhall, DCU – Iowa State


Ian Morris, Limerick IT – Dickinson College

Summer King, Limerick IT – Colgate University

Reece Dupler, Limerick IT – College of Wooster


Kaitlyn Slagus, IT Carlow – Bucknell University

Duane Harper, IT Carlow – McDaniel College


Rebecca Carmody, NUI Galway – Binghampton University

Daniel Vila, NUI Galway – John Hopkins University

Karlee Alves, NUI Galway – Merrimack University


Morgan O’Donnell, Griffith College – Assumption College


Stay Updated! Sign up to our newsletter

Stay Updated! Sign up to our newsletter